The halfway

“You may delay, but time will not.” ~ Benjamin Franklin

The halfway

In today's blog post, I would like to share my experience and the progress of the first half of my Outreachy internship.

My main internship goal is to create Python modules to sync data between Wikipedia and Wikidata. I wrote about that in detail previously in these ( Introduction and follow-up posts.

The plans

Life does not always go as we want it. So always some of our plans can taker longer than expected or estimated for one reason or the other. The strength in such situation is in acknowledging the issue, understanding the problems, making amends and forging ahead with modified expectations and renewed hope for the future.

My plans definitely didn't go as exactly envisioned, but I did make some progress. The modules started have already been completed and ready for use, I can't do that straight though since each module will have to pass through the wikidata bot approval process. So far I have secured one approval while two more are in the pipeline

While waiting for the approval I will continue the work to create more modules for the second phase in my timeline and also run the script for the approved parts.

Modifying the plans: Timeline

With the help of my mentor I revised my timeline on July 12 so as to plan better for the second half.

Initially, my timeline of the work consisted of 6 arbitrarily-sized phases.

  1. May 24 to June 5
  2. June 6 to July 4
  3. July 5 to July 19
  4. July 20 to August 1
  5. August 2 to August 16:
  6. August 17 to August 24

The first phase has passed completely and I completed most of what it contains expe except detailing the subtasks to do which is left in the open because it proved difficult that it seemed in the beginning.

The second phase has also completely passed and the progress here is much better. The modules have been created, the bot account has been set up and approval secured, though for only one task. The approval process has not been given much thought in the timeline too, even though it's quite important and is not automatic.

The third phase is where this Midpoint point falls in so it's not yet completed. However, during the revision of the timeline I decided to subsume it into the following phase 4 which generally contains similar tasks. This is point I am currently.

The remaining phasee 5 and 6 remain as they are.

Next steps

While we're at the midpoint of the project, there's still some time remaining and I am committing myself to doing more to meet up with the revised timeline and set expectations.