Outreachy - Introduction

“You don't have to be good to start ... you just have to start to be good!” ― Joe Sabah

Outreachy - Introduction

Hi everyone! Welcome to my blog. I’m Ammar and I am currently Outreachy intern with Wikimedia. For the coming weeks, I would be working on the project "Synchronising Wikidata and Wikipedias using pywikibot."

Some notes about these terms:

  • Wikipedia This is the the free knowledge repository/online encyclopedia, which we all know.
  • Wikidata This is less known, but quite vital to the Wikipedia we just mention. It is a structured data repository. It holds a mammoth collection of data about a virtually everything you can think of.
  • Pywikibot This is a Python library that interfaces with the MediaWiki (Wikipedia backend) and make developer life a lot easier.

My three core values are: curiosity, challenge and learning.

  • curiosity - For me, everyone should be curious. This world we live is quite incredible and the advances in sciences is making it even more. I have always been curious and keen to know how that actually works.
  • challenge - Life without challenges will certainly feels duller I think. I face my challenges head on. There's no time to waste in this life, and it's either you pursue you challenges or the challenges will pursue you down to disappointment. I think the former is better option.
  • learning - This is all I do. I have insatiable urge to learn something new everyday.